EDGE Jamboree, September 5-6, 2008 at the University of Copenhagen

The meeting takes place in Større Øvelsessal at the Department of Economics, University of Copenhagen, Studiestræde 6

Friday, 5 September 2008

9:00-10:50 Session 1: Applied Econometrics

Chair: Ray Rees (Munich)

  1. Philippe Charlot (Aix-Marseille): Hierarchical hidden Markov structure for dynamic correlations: the hierarchical RSDC model
    Discussant: Davide delle Monache (Cambridge)
  2. Olaf De Groot (Bocconi): Measuring Ethno-Linguistic Affinity Between Nations
    Discussant: Idil Goksel (Bocconi)
  3. Jeanet Bentzen (Copenhagen): On the Impact of Digital Technologies on Corruption: Evidence from U.S. States and Across Countries
    Discussant: Fernanda Brollo (Bocconi)
  4. Zakaria Moussa (Aix-Marseille): The effectiveness of quantitative easing in Japan: New evidence from a structural factor-augmented VAR
    Discussant: Christin Kyrme Tuxen (Copenhagen)

10:50-11:20 Coffee Break

11:20–12:35 Session 2: Macroeconomics / Finance

Chair: Vincent Hogan (Dublin)

  1. Ivan Petrella (Cambridge): Factor demand linkages and aggregate business cycle: interpreting aggregate fluctuations looking at sectors
    Discussant: Wasiu Adelkunle Are (Dublin)
  2. Lars Jul Overby (Copenhagen): Extracting Market Expectations on Macroeconomic Announcements from Bond Prices
    Discussant: Davide delle Monache (Cambridge)
  3. Gulnihal Mahmutoglu Aksoy (Dublin): Devaluation & Correlated Variables
    Discussant: Valeria Merlo (Munich)

12:35-13:55 Lunch

13:55-15:10 Keynote Speaker (NOTE: this lecture takes place in Alexandersalen)

Anders Rahbek (Copenhagen): Econometric Time Series Analysis of Nonlinear Equilibrium Correction Models

15:10-15:40 Reception

15:40-17:20 Session 3: Industrial Organization / Political Economy

Chair: Nicolas Gravel (Aix-Marseille)

  1. Fergal McCann (Dublin): Outsourcing and Firm Productivity
    Discussant: Kathrine Thrane Bløcher (Copenhagen)
  2. Caterina Gennaioli (Bocconi): Product Diversity and Ethnic Fragmentation: Is Heterogeneity Good or Bad for Media Capture?
    Discussant: Fernanda Brollo (Bocconi)
  3. Anno Stolper (Munich): Regulation of Credit Rating Agencies
    Discussant: Jan Schikora (Munich)
  4. Anke Weber (Cambridge): Communication, decision-making and the optimal degree of transparency of monetary policy committees
    Discussant: Frederik Roose Øvlisen (Copenhagen)

19:30 Dinner at Restaurant Søren K

Søren Kierkegaards Plads 1
DK–1221 København K

Saturday, 6 September 2008

9:00–10:15 Session 4: Economic Theory

Chair: Matthias Messner (Bocconi)

  1. Niels Johannesen (Copenhagen): Why the fiscal barriers protecting us from tax havens are missing
    Discussant: Gwenola Trotin (Aix-Marseille)
  2. Jonathan Newton (Cambridge): Coalitional stochastic stability
    Discussant: Jan Schikora (Munich)
  3. Nicolas Klein (Munich): Negatively correlated bandits
    Discussant: Frederik Roose Øvlisen (Copenhagen)

10:15–10:45 Coffee Break

10:45-12:00 Session 5: Microeconometrics

Chair: Sule Alan (Cambridge)

  1. Massimiliano Onorato (Bocconi): Legislative Malapportionment and Economic Outcomes: A First Assessment
    Discussant: Pablo Selaya (Copenhagen)
  2. Elvira Kazbakova (Aix-Marseille): On the spike in hazard rates at unemployment benefit expiration; the signalling hypothesis revisited
    Discussant: To be determined
  3. Amelie Wuppermann (Munich): Do teaching practices influence student achievement?
    Discussant: Wasiu Adelkunle Are (Dublin)

12:00 Lunch

12:45 EDGE Committee Meeting

Rules for Presenters:

Each presenter has 15 minutes for the presentation, followed by 5 minutes of discussion by the discussant and 5 minutes for general discussion. We have a computer, which is connected to the projector. Bring a powerpoint or pdf file with the presentation slides or email them to Peter Norman Sørensen by September 3rd at the latest.

Copies of the papers will not be provided by the local organization. Each participant should download the papers before coming to Copenhagen and each presenter should bring a few copies of his or her paper to the conference.

Submission of Papers: Instructions

Presenters should submit a pdf version of their papers by email to Peter Norman Sørensen before August 15. Make sure that you insert “Jamboree Paper Submission” in the subject line. Note that the deadline is strict and papers sent after August 15 might not find a discussant. (e-mail addresses can be found below)

Faculty participants:

Nicolas Gravel (Aix-Marseille) nicolas.gravel@univmed.fr
Matthias Messner (Bocconi) matthias.messner@uni-bocconi.it
Sule Alan (Cambridge) sa479@econ.cam.ac.uk
Hans Christian Kongsted (Copenhagen) Hans.Christian.Kongsted@econ.ku.dk
Peter Norman Sørensen (Copenhagen) peter.sorensen@econ.ku.dk
Vincent Hogan (Dublin) vincent.hogan@ucd.ie
Ray Rees (Munich) Ray.Rees@lrz.uni-muenchen.de

Student participants:

Elvira Kazbakova elvira_kazb@yahoo.fr
Zakaria Moussa zakaria.moussa@etumel.univmed.fr
Philippe Charlot charlal13@yahoo.fr
Gwenola Trotin gwenola.trotin@netcourrier.com
Olaf De Groot olaf.degroot@phd.unibocconi.it
Caterina Gennaioli caterina.gennaioli@phd.unibocconi.it
Massimiliano Onorato massimiliano.onorato@phd.unibocconi.it
Fernanda Brollo fernanda.brollo@phd.unibocconi.it
Idil Goksel idil.goksel@phd.unibocconi.it
Jonathan Newton 
Ivan Petrella 
Anke Weber aw299@cam.ac.uk
Davide delle Monache 
Lars Jul Overby ljo@nationalbanken.dk
Jeanet Bentzen jeanet.bentzen@econ.ku.dk
Niels Johannesen niels.johannesen@econ.ku.dk
Frederik Roose Øvlisen Frederik.Oevlisen@econ.ku.dk
Christin Kyrme Tuxen christin.kyrme.tuxen@econ.ku.dk
Kathrine Thrane Bløcher Kathrine.Thrane.Blocher@econ.ku.dk
Pablo Selaya pablo.selaya@econ.ku.dk
Gulnihal Aksoy gulnihal.aksoy@gmail.com
Fergal McCann fergaljmccann@gmail.com
Wasiu Adelkunle Are 
Amelie Wuppermann amelie.wuppermann@lrz.uni-muenchen.de
Nicolas Klein kleinnic@yahoo.com
Anno Stolper anno.stolper@lrz.uni-muenchen.de
Valeria Merlo merlo@ifo.de
Jan Schikora surfer_jan@hotmail.com

Organizing Committee:

Hans Christian Kongsted, Hans.Christian.Kongsted@econ.ku.dk

Peter Norman Sørensen, peter.sorensen@econ.ku.dk

Administrative Assistant:

Kristine Rosenqvist, Phone: +45 3532 3074, Kristine.Rosenqvist@econ.ku.dk

Last edited: October 14, 2008.

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional